Why We Left You, and 5 Things to Do Until We Come Back

By Ann

Dear Illustrious Reader,

You may have noticed that Shawn and I have been strangely quiet for the past month. Before we give you too many abandonment issues, I thought we’d better explain ourselves. So, where did we go?

I’ve been away in New York at publishing school, studying up on magazines, books, and how Amazon is ruining everyone’s publishing-related dreams. (Sike, it’ll be fine. …Probably.) The program is split into two sections. For the first three weeks, the assignment is to split into teams and create a fake magazine to launch. Then we have to present our blood, sweat, and tears to a panel of industry professionals who show up to laugh at our dreams, reality-TV style. This, at any rate, is what I imagined. So imagine my horror at being assigned as the art director for my news weekly magazine group. I spent three weeks frantically trying to become artsy. This involved a lot of swearing at Photoshop and ranting about fonts in my sleep. Fortunately, it paid off. The judges were charming and our team did very well. But it doesn’t end there. Oh, no, it never ends. For the last three weeks, the whole process starts over with books. So, here I am about to start Week 5 of the program. We’re in the book section now, creating a new imprint to launch. We’re literary fiction, and thankfully, I am no longer an art director. If I could handle that, I can handle anything.

I’ve had a few talks with Shawn while I’ve been up there. When I ask him how his work is going, his usual response goes something like this: GRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!

I take it that he is somewhat busy as well.

Going into this insane six-week period, Shawn and I had set out with high hopes. We knew we’d be busy, and we debated giving out the word that there might be fewer blog posts to expect. But no, we thought, surely there would be some free time. Surely, we’d find a way.

This optimism has proven itself to be sheer folly. It is reasonable to expect that for the last two weeks of madness-town (which is where I currently live) that there will not be many posts from us. But there is good news!

We will return! Soon and in full-force! Look for our usual activity to resume in mid-July. Until then, without further ado, I give you…

5 Things To Do Until We Come Back

1. Keep checking for the occasional new post. We may have a couple tricks up our sleeve.

2. Catch up on some of our all-time most popular posts:

3. Watch our video parodies on youtube:

4. Get your giggles by terrifying your loved ones with the following image:

5. If all else fails, play the following clip on repeat and cry:

4 comments

  1. Aly

    No way — you’re at NYU’s SPI, right? I did that last year! Just remember — there are no grades. That’s what got me through the hectic-ness! 🙂 Good luck!

  2. siblingandcharybdis

    I am, indeed! Haha, you know, they took that light in the darkness away from us. There are grades this year. However, I’m pretty sure no one really cares about their existence, so there’s that. Thanks for the well wishes! -A

  3. Aly

    I guess you can only look forward to the wine and cheese end-of-project party, then. Or have they taken that away, too?!

Leave a Reply

